How to Add and Remove Tabs from the Microsoft Office Ribbon

How to Customize the Office Ribbon

When Microsoft introduced the ribbon in 2007, there were mixed reviews. Some users found it convenient and easier to navigate while others found it cumbersome and confusing. In either case, ribbon customization allows users to make the ribbon work for their particular needs and workflow. It’s relatively simple to customize the Office 2013 Ribbon, adding, removing, and even creating unique tabs for the ribbon.

The example below refers to Microsoft Word, but this feature is available in other Microsoft Office programs and subsequent versions. In this tutorial, we’ll cover How to Add or Remove an Existing Tab, and How to Create a Custom Tab. First, let’s access the “Customize the Ribbon” options window.

  1. Regardless of which tab is selected, navigate your mouse to the ribbon and right-click (Alternatively, you can also click the File tab and choose Options).
  2. Select Customize the Ribbon in the drop-down menu.
    To customize the Office 2013 Ribbon, right-click on the Word Ribbon to produce a drop-down menu. Select the "Customize the Ribbon..." option, which follows "Show Quick Access Toolbar Below the Ribbon."
  3. The Options window will open. This primary part of the window has several customization options available.
    The Word Options window, with "Customize Ribbon" option selected. This option displays two columns of selection in the primary pane on the right to Customize the Ribbon and keyboard shortcuts.

From this window, you are able to add, remove, and create new tabs.

To Add or Remove an Existing Tab

The right column allows you to customize the Office 2013 ribbon.

  1. Select an option from the “Customize the Ribbon” drop-down menu to designate which tab to customize.“Main tabs” show by default.
    The Main tabs selections in the Ribbon menu options panel map to the main tabs in the ribbon.“Tool tabs” are context-sensitive tabs that show only when you are using specific options (for instance, the Table Tools tab only displays when you are working with tables).
    The Tool tabs selections in the Ribbon menu options panel map to the tools tabs in the ribbon. Here, the Table options "Design" and "Layout" are listed under "Table Tools" and displayed in the options window, with the Table Design and Layout tabs selected in the document.
  2. From the options panel, check the tabs you want to be included on your ribbon and uncheck tabs you do not want. A popular tab to add to the ribbon is the Developer tab. The order of the options indicates the order in which the new tab will appear on the ribbon. Here, the “Developer” option is listed below (or after) the View tab option. When applied, the Developer tab appears to the right of (or after) the View tab.
    The Developer option is selected within the options menu. It appears below the View options. Once applied, the Developer tab will appear to the right of the View tab on the Ribbon.       Snippet of Ribbon now showing the Developer tab between the View and Acrobat tabs.

To Create a Custom Tab

When you create a custom tab, you choose which commands to include. You can use a custom tab to keep all of your favorite actions in one place. There’s no need to click through each tab trying to remember where that important tool resides.

  1. Underneath the right column, click the New Tab option to add a tab option to your Tabs list.
    Bottom of options panel with New Tab button selected.
  2. The New Tab (Custom) option will have a “New Group (Custom) option as a sub item. Right-click the New Tab and New Group options to change the name, location, or other options related to your selection.
    Right-clicking the New Tab (Custom) option displays options to Add New Tab, Add New Group, Rename, Show Tab, Remove, Move Up, or Move Down.Righ-clicking on "New Group (Custom) displays options to Ad New Tab, Add New Group, Rename, REmove, Hide Command Label, Move Up, and Move Down.
  3. To add commands to your new tab, left-click the appropriate command from the menu on the left and drag it into your new tab.
    Ribbon options window with tab options from left placed in new custom tab and group on right
  4. Select OK.
    New "Art and Layout" tab with selection options displayed in Ribbon between "Home" and "Insert" tabs.

Once you customize the Office 2013 ribbon in your various Microsoft Office applications,you’ll begin to get even more out of each Microsoft program. Note that changes to the ribbon are not universal because tabs differ between programs. To fully take advantage of this feature, you’ll need to design custom tabs for each program—PowerPoint, Word, Excel, etc.—based on your most commonly used commands for each.

Additional Productivity Resources

  • We have more Microsoft Office tips in our Recent Posts and Categories sections. These are on the right side of your screen if viewing from a desktop.
  • To learn about upcoming classes on Word, Outlook, PowerPoint, and other Microsoft applications, please visit our Course Schedule page.
  • To schedule a custom class for any Microsoft application on your organization’s campus, please contact our Training Team.
  • Finally, be sure to look through our other Software Tips for more on Microsoft Office!
Scroll to Top