Do you find yourself running out of storage space in Outlook? One of the quickest and easiest ways to free up space is by removing emails you no longer need. Deleted emails pile up very quickly, but Outlook 2010 and Outlook 2013 both offer a tool to help you better manage your emails and save space. With just a few clicks, you can permanently delete all items in your Deleted Items folder upon exiting Outlook.
- Click on the File menu.
- Click Options.
- On the Advanced tab, and find the Outlook Start and Exit section.
- Add a checkbox next to Empty Deleted Items folder when exiting Outlook.
If you’re interested in shortcut keys, you can use Shift + Delete to permanently delete a message in any folder. This allows the message to bypass the Deleted Items folder. However, use this shortcut key with caution as the action cannot be undone.